Safe and stylish cycling: a bicycle jacket with lights

Of late, I have seen increasing numbers of cyclists on the road; the result of the warmer weather, or perhaps a reaction to global warming?

I have often thought about joining this new cycling cult. I long to evoke the nostalgia of being eleven years old and feeling the wind whipping at my face; I remember it being very liberating!

But there are two things that put me off now that I am older and living in a big city with crazy cab drivers.

Number one – safety. I have heard so many horror stories of cyclists being hit by bendy buses and just the other day, some guy in a pimped out BMW decided to start reversing in the bus lane and almost knocked a poor woman off her bike! I was horrified!

Number two – what do you wear on a bike? I’ve seen brave women pedalling around London in heels and skirts, sans helmet, and considering the above fear that doesn’t seem so wise. Also, what about cycling at night? Fluorescents never did suit me.

It was just this week, however, that I found a brilliant piece of Fashionology that could remedy the fluorescent situation, at least. Angella Mackey, a Toronto-based media artist and clothing designer, has created stylish bicycle jackets with lights imbedded in them.

Pure genius! Now if only I could find a fashionable helmet…the search is on!

Via Angella Mackey

One response to “Safe and stylish cycling: a bicycle jacket with lights

  1. Pingback: Fashionology has found a stylish cycling helmet! | Fashionology

Leave a Reply

